Why Wait????????

June 11, 2006

So you may be wondering why I have decided to wait until July 1st to start my diet, but I have my reasons. First and foremost I want to mentally prepare myself for this diet, which means having a few last flings with some of the foods I love but need to cut out for a while.

Another good reason for me to wait is that come July 1st I will have a new apartment with some friends, and with a little luck a new job. I feel incorporating a diet with the other changes in my life will actually make things easier. I am hoping that if I get this new job I can get rid of my truck, which means I will need to walk wherever I go and take public transportation, meaning I will be more physically active in my daily routine.

I also want to take some time to get some stats, and some pictures. Pictures of myself so that I have a starting reference point, as well as my waste size and weight. Do I have a goal? Sure, but once I get my specific measurements I will be able to make those goals more specific. Ultimately, I would like to get down to about 220 pounds, as that is a healthy weight for someone of my height (6'6). I last weighed 220 pounds in 7th grade, so believe me that target weight is a very long term goal. Of course I will have some short term goals as well.

I am also going to take the time before my diet starts to find some recipes I want to try, ground rules I want to install, and anything else I might dig up over the next couple of weeks. 21 days until the diet starts, I am excited.