Among the things that have crossed my mind since I decided to go on a Fattle is being a vegetarian. I know a few people that became vegetarians for health reasons, and for the most part their health improved. Of course, these people were older and were facing a grave situation, and fortunately I am not there yet.

I think I could do the vegetarian thing. These days veggie patties are tasty, and with the internet handy it is not hard to find good recipes that leave meat out. Ever have an eggplant burger? I have, and if done right it can be pretty damn tasty. Ever had vegetarian lasagna? I have, and again, quite good.

The problem is that before when I tried these things they were just one time deals, something I wanted to try, not part of a larger commitment. With Fattle being about a lifestyle change, rather than a quick diet, I have to consider the long run.

Ultimately I think being a vegetarian could get boring after a while, and even though the health benefits are there I think I will still incorporate chicken and fish into the diet, although red meat has likely seen its last day with me, with the exception of rare occasions.

Ideally I want a diet that can allow me to have vegetarian days, perhaps even working the vegetarian thing into an every other day occurrence for me, although at first I think I will probably just do one or two vegetarian days a week. So, as I begin to develop my first week of food I will make it a point to have two vegetarian days.

One of the things my vegetarian friends do that I will do is drink Soy Milk. Have you ever had it? I was skeptical too, and although it may not be the greatest thing to have on its own, I find it is great in cereal. So, cow milk is out for Fattle, organic Soy Milk is in.

What other soy things can work into my diet to replace the dairy that I love? I enjoy butter, cheese, yogurt, ice cream. Well, butter is going to be Smart Balance, and ice cream is going to either be Soy or Tofu based. I hear good things about Tofrutti and I look forward to giving that a try. But what about cheese? Granted I don’t plan on eating much bread anymore, but who doesn’t love cheese? I can’t make a veggie burger, pizza, or anything else without cheese. Turns out they have Soy Cheese, or other non dairy cheeses based on non dairy items, same goes for yogurt. So, that is good news.

One thing to expect from is reviews of products after I give them a try, so if you are a little squeemish about trying something you can at least have an idea on how I felt after I tried a product.

Breakfast is still the meal I am having the hardest time finding food for. Sure I could have some cereal and Soy Milk, which I will, but I would like to find something a tad more creative.

Now that my last big food weekend is behind me I am feeling more and more ready for Fattle. Soon I will get my weight, take some pictures, and be on my way. I do thank everyone who has offered support and advice so far, as well as those who are visiting the website. I hope, if nothing else, this will be an interesting read for you all.

11 days and counting.

I Hate the Heat

June 20, 2006

I know we all sweat, but is there anything worse than being a fat person on these hot and humid days? You know, days that are so hot and sticky that you wake up covered in sweat wondering if you perspired or pissed yourself.

Even now I am back in Boston in my bedroom (last week thank God) and I am hot as hell. I know what you are thinking, go get a fan, well I have one, in NY, and it will be in my new apartment, but for now I am sweating to the oldies, minus the oldies part.

Days like today are so bad that once I start walking to work I will probably need to bring a change of clothes with me, one pair to sweat my ass off in on the way to work, the other to change into when I get to work so I don’t smell like a gym sock all damn day.

This kind of heat breeds dehydration, which means for the first time in a long time I could probably qualify for a being able to drink a sports drink. This gave me an idea, why doesn’t Gatorade do a commercial that focuses on fat people. Sure, we know athletes sweat and need their Gatorade, but show some fat people sweating their asses off on the way to work, standing in line, or even eating a meal. Show these fat people being tired, then show some fat folks doing the same thing, only this time drinking Gatorade. Show them more awake, alive, active, whatever, just show them with Gatorade. Show the fat people drinking Gatorade to be ten degrees cooler than the poor fat guys without the Gatorade, this way fat people watching at home in their humid Apartments debating whether or not to go to work if it means sweating their balls off will think, hey, maybe I won’t look like I just got out of Typhoon Lagoon when I get to work if I drink a Gatorade on the way to work. This is brilliant, and you know it.

I know, I poke fun at being fat, because I have a good sense of humor, and because I know the struggles of being fat. I know what its like to decide between wearing your pants too low, so your ass crack is hanging out just so you can wear smaller pants or wearing pants around the belly button and looking like some sort of weebil wabel. I know what it is like to have kids point and laugh, to have coworkers make the same joke about beating you to the buffet table so there will be something for them to eat. I know what it is like to have people offer you more food simply because they think us fat people will want to eat way more than anyone else, or when someone farts they just assume it was the fat guy. I feel your pain, but you know what, laugh at these jokes, because ultimately, the majority of us can do something about our weight.

Honestly, I don’t even want to be skinny, being fat is a big part of my life, I just want to reach a weight so I can see my toes and live long enough to enjoy my grandchildren, assuming I get married and have kids.

I know, some of your skeptics are saying that even if I lose weight there is no guarantee I will live to get old. You are right, but I know that when I lose the weight I will be able to do more living, be it hiking ,biking, skydiving, bungy jumping, or just being able to walk to work without sweating my ass off on a hot day.