Moving Sucks Part III…..FINISHED FINALLY

June 29, 2006

Well I sit here now in the new apartment, everything moved in, cold beer in hand, right in front of the air conditioning. I can honestly say this beer might be the best tasting beer I have ever had, its cold, its refreshing, its light.

But as I sit here recovering from sweating my balls off I realize yet another benefit of Fattle, the next time I move it should not suck so much. Of course we move again in two months, to the apartment above us, so that is not so bad, but when the time comes for the four of us to disband I will be in better shape, and that will help…not to mention I just don’t own a ton of stuff, unlike some of my other roommates.

In my last post Chris tossed around some ideas, including weighing in on the diet soda. Diet Soda will probably be a once in a while thing, but I don’t need it every day. Chris suggests propel, which I have had before and enjoyed. Since I am going home this weekend I can subscribe to the Bank of Mom, lol, and get her to pay for some of this stuff.

I hope that does not make me sound too crummy, but I have learned to not question a good thing, and if Mom wants so stock me up on groceries, I will let her.

I also need to look into some good red wines, order some cigars, find the exact location of the nearest T, and take a hot shower…..which will not be possible here until Wednesday when they turn the gas on, but at least I in New York I will have some access to some hot water.

Having been away from the internet for the last few days has meant a lack of research into what I will be eating next week, I was hoping to have it planned out by now, but it is looking like I will be taking things one day at a time. I can’t even really say what I will be eating Saturday because I do not know what my Mom has in the house, but she knows about Fattle, and I will be counting calories at home. Clearly I will need to be able to eat spontaneously, so this weekend should be a crash course in eating healthy with little notice.

As for my walking plan. It starts Monday. I will walk around in New York for a little bit before I come back to Boston, and on Tuesday I will walk around the neighborhood. When I start my new job on Wednesday the walk to and from work will count as the exercise, and I will follow the program as it is laid out. I figure this is a great way to start conditioning my heart towards a more formal workout program.

One thing is clear, I need to get in shape. I was dragging during this whole moving process. Everyone was really, the heat was brutal, as was the humidity, but I can’t imagine how much easier it would have been if I was in better shape.

It is scary to think, but even at 25 I feel that if I did not start Fattle now I could be in some serious danger. It is scary to talk about, or even to think about, but ultimately I am doing this so I can live a longer, more active life. I am tired of being tired, and during this journey I know I will reclaim my life, and ultimately end up in the best shape I have ever been in.

Which leads me to something I shared with a dear friend the other day, it is important that we take control of our lives. No, we can not control everything, but we need to be active in our lives and pursue things, and not just expect them to happen to us. Be it in a job, a relationship, family, health, hobbies, or whatever, we do have the power to improve our lives, and we should take full advantage of it. Saturday is my first step towards reclaiming my body from the junk food, fat, calories, and other things that have added up over the years.

Leave a comment